Zanette hat-trick secures title

TOUCH: David Zanette bagged a hat-trick to spearhead NADS to an 8-2 victory over FRG in the Bundaberg Touch Association Masters Division 1 grand final.

But he was beaten for the Player of the Final award by fellow former Australian junior representative Jack Russo, who finished with just one touchdown but shone brightest in a galaxy of stars.

Surf Life Saving Queensland Wide Bay Capricorn Regional Manager Craig Holden, who has championed that sport to the highest level, has also always been a fine all-round athlete, and he also featured with a double.

NADS made a clean sweep of the awards for the division with another of their players, Matt Churchill, taking out both the season’s Best and Fairest and Most Touchdowns but being one of just two of their side who did not score in the final.

Meanwhile Crusty NADS shut out Nip and Tuck 6-0 in the Masters Division 2 final with former Brisbane Broncos, Penrith Panthers and English Superleague rugby league star Sid Domic and Steve Glover each bagging doubles.

The Mixed Division 1 decider went right down to the wire before BBD edged out Team ANP 4-3 with Blake Hornbrook taking out the Player of the Final.

The match was also a family feud between siblings Matt and Emily Craven, who won the Male and Female Most Touchdowns gongs, but Emily claimed bragging rights by touching down for BBD while Matt was kept scoreless.

Team ANP’s Aaron Watson and Danielle Giebel received some consolation when they received the division’s Best and Fairest awards.

Masters Division 1: NADS 8 (David Zanette 3, Craig Holden 2, Jack Russo, Aaron Udris, Dan Petersen) d FRG 2 (Paul Mason, Graham O’Shanesy). Player of the Final: Jack Russo (NADS), Most Touchdowns: Matt Churchill (NADS), Best and Fairest: Matt Churchill (NADS)

Masters Div 2: Crusty NADS 6 (Sid Domic 2, Steve Glover 2, Mark Vincent, Ash Simpson) d Nip & Tuck 0. Player of Final: Ash Simpson (Crusty NADS). Most Touchdowns: Graham Telfer (Nip & Tuck). Best and Fairest: Roger Sherbourne (Energise)

Masters Division 3: Hands Off 6 (M Paget 3, Ivan Williamson, R Moore, R Haberer) d Outlaws 5 (Tom Dunphy 2, Graham Telfer, Paul Slater, Maria Curtis). Player of the Final: M Paget (Hands Off), Most Touchdowns: Graham Telfer (Outlaws), Best and Fairest: Darren Scheuer (Beds R Us)

Mixed Division 1: BBD 4 (Geoff Hooper, Britt Duncan, Blake Hornbrook, Emily Craven) d Team ANP 3 (Tegan Fry 2, Aaron Watson). Player of the Final: Blake Hornbrook (BBD). Most Touchdowns: Matt Craven (Team ANP) & Emily Craven (BBD)/Britt Duncan (BBD).

Mixed Division 2: G Force 6 (Nathan Green, Angela Green, Rikki Weber, Brett Powell, Tressa Marano, Ben Sampson) d Lifestyle Solutions 1 (Caleb Richards). Player of the Final: Nathan Green (G Force). Most Touchdowns: Cohen Kirby (JMJ’s) & Jude Bust (G Force). Best and Fairest: Nathan Green (G Force) & Rikki Weber (G Force)

Mixed Division 3: ATW Cruisers 3 (Madi Binnie, Sam Field, David Field) d Rise 2 (Brody Newton, Shanon Newton). Player of the Final: Dave Field (ATW Cruisers). Most Touchdowns: Britt Roberts (Obo One Kenobi) & Michael McPhee (PRD). Best and Fairest: Jeremy Grindle (Rise) & Britt Roberts (Obi One Kenobi)

Mixed Division 4: Mode 11 (Josh Watson 5, Jody Appo 3, Daniel Watson 2, Alex Beu) d Blue Button Promotions 5 (Mark Annetts 2, Nicky Staff, B Crosbie, Phil Proctor). Player of the Final: Josh Watson (Mode), Most Touchdowns: Jody Appo (Mode) & Josh Watson (Mode), Best and Fairest: Josh Watson & Jacinta Robinson (Mode)

Other Awards - Most Improved Referee: Dan Bush. Rookies of the Year - Male: Blake Hornbrook, Female: Emily Craven. Trevor Dewar Award (Men’s Players Player): Allan Gibbs. The Jakey Award: Brad Newton. Bundaberg Touch Association Service to Touch Award - Male: Brad Newton, Female: Britt Duncan. Col Hayward Award: Richard Moore

VOTE NOW: Put forward your public memorial suggestion

Premium Content VOTE NOW: Put forward your public memorial suggestion

Should the women of Bundaberg be immortalised with public memorials? If so, who?...

Replay: Final day of U16 cricket champs - Flares vs Embers

Premium Content Replay: Final day of U16 cricket champs - Flares vs Embers

Queensland’s best under 16 cricketers finish with a thriller

Why Sea Shepherd is relaunching Hervey Bay chapter

Premium Content Why Sea Shepherd is relaunching Hervey Bay chapter

Sea Shepherd is hosting a special event in Queensland’s whale capital. Here’s how...