Moore Park’s James Walker does a victory somersault after beating Diggers in the Football Bundaberg Toyota Premier League grand final.
Moore Park’s James Walker does a victory somersault after beating Diggers in the Football Bundaberg Toyota Premier League grand final. Scottie Simmonds

Eagles fly high in 2011

ACROSS The Waves (ATW) Eagles could lay claim to the title of the Bundaberg Team of the Year after completing a dominant season with a 67-point demolition of Hervey Bay Bombers in the AFL Wide Bay Senior grand final.

Led by captain Brendan Murchie, they powered home 20.8 (128) to 9.7 (61) to finish with 17 wins from as many matches in 2011 under coach John Williams.

ATW claimed the minor premiership by a massive 28 points and the flag for the seventh time in the merged club's 15-year history, amassing 2316 points while conceding just 629 for a staggering percentage of almost 400.

Winning a senior title was about the only honour which had eluded 34-year-old Murchie in 17 years of trying.

"I've never won a senior flag before - that's how valuable it is to me, and to win it unbeaten is just amazing," Murchie said.

Not far behind the Eagles were Turtles who wrapped up their second unbeaten Rugby Spring Cup with captain Luke Cummins the Player of the Grand Final in a 43-5 massacre of West Barbarians.

ATW Gold continued their success story in netball, snaring their sixth Division 1 crown in the past seven years with a 30-18 triumph over Blazers, with Donita Stains, fresh from taking out the Queensland State League MVP award, shining in a galaxy of stars.

But Alloway was the most successful netball club for the season, grabbing three titles.

ATW ended Brothers' run of six straight Division 1 Cricket premierships, leading Brothers by a mere one run on the first innings before going on to a six-wicket victory with Nathan

Sarnadsky the Player of the Final with match figures of 7-56.

ATW ended Brothers' six-year NewsMail Cup reign, in that final to end the year.

But ATW won only one match in the Bundaberg Rugby League (BRL) A Grade and Brothers made it back-to-back titles with Shaun Collins picking up the Les Somerville Medal for Best and Fairest in a 38-12 grand final blitz of Hervey Bay Seagulls.

Brothers won the inaugural BRL women's premiership with Queensland representative Nicole Curtis bagging four tries in a 30-18 win over Cherbourg.

Matt Mikkelsen's boot proved the difference as Miriam Vale clinched their second straight Northern Districts League crown with a 38-34 grand final win over South Kolan as he kicked five goals to Kolan's three with both sides scoring seven tries.

ATW had a lean year in football but it was a red-letter one for Moore Park, with Daniel Hardy named Premier League Player of the Final in a 3-0 win over Diggers in just their second season in the competition.

Moore Park White put the icing on an unbeaten season with a 3-0 grand final despatch of Brothers-Aston Villa Blue.

Cities defeated Cooloola Heat for their seventh Premier League men's title with a 3-2 win over Rovers in the local decider, while Arrows/Athletics shocked unbeaten minor premiers Wallaroos 7-2 in the Premier decider but were beaten by All Blacks 1-0 in double extra-time in the final.

Moray Eels were A-Grade Softball bridesmaids for the third year in a row after a shock 15-4 final loss to West Panthers, while Australian under-19 captain Sam Daff was among the stars as Brothers United notched a hat-trick of men's titles at West Lynx's expense 13-4.

Get your bins out early

Get your bins out early

Early garbage collection this week and next

TAX ATTACK: Shorten's message to 16,000 Hinkler pensioners

TAX ATTACK: Shorten's message to 16,000 Hinkler pensioners

Hinkler MP warns 1800 to be slugged under ALP

Local Partners