All Blacks chop Sivivatu

ZAC Guildford has been selected over Sitiveni Sivivatu for the All Blacks World Cup squad, which was named in Brisbane.

The squad, which will be captained by 30-year-old Richie McCaw at his third Rugby World Cup, is made up of 16 forwards and 14 backs, and with 1,133 Test caps between them, is the most experienced All Blacks squad ever assembled.

>> Latest sporting news

Wyatt Crockett, Jarrad Hoeata, Hosea Gear, Liam Messam, Aaron Cruden and Sivivatu are among the most noticable to miss out.

All Black coach Graham Henry has touted South Africa test star Israel Dagg as a potential starting fullback at the Rugby World Cup.

Henry said Zac Guildford was selected over other wing prospects Sitiveni Sivivatu and Hosea Gear because of his superior workrate and desire.

He had improved dramatically since his All Black debut in 2009, Henry said.

"He's probably just played with a little bit more energy than the others, a bit more desire... Because of that energy, because of that availability, he got the nod."

Henry said "five or six" players would be extremely disappointed not to be selected.

"Our thoughts are with them. The last 36 hours has been challenging, particularly for those people.

"They're no longer with us. They're back in New Zealand, so we just hope they're handling that as well as they can."

He said the 30-man squad had been selected "generally on form".

Big name omissions such as Sivivatu, Gear and Messam did not offer the energy and range of skills needed to make the side.

He said Gear had not shown the form displayed by Guildford in recent weeks.



Corey Flynn, Canterbury (14 tests)

Andrew Hore, Taranaki (54)

Keven Mealamu, Auckland (85)

John Afoa, Auckland (33)

Ben Franks, Tasman (11)

Owen Franks, Canterbury (23)

Tony Woodcock, North Harbour (75)

Anthony Boric, North Harbour (20)

Brad Thorn, Canterbury (51)

Samuel Whitelock, Canterbury (17)

Ali Williams, Auckland (65)

Jerome Kaino, Auckland (41)

Richie McCaw, (capt) Canterbury (97)

Kieran Read, Canterbury (31)

Adam Thomson, Otago (21)

Victor Vito, Wellington (7)


Jimmy Cowan, Southland (47)

Andy Ellis, Canterbury (20)

Piri Weepu, Wellington (48)

Daniel Carter, Canterbury (82)

Colin Slade, Canterbury (5)

Richard Kahui, Waikato (12)

Ma'a Nonu, Wellington (58)

Conrad Smith, Wellington (48)

Sonny Bill Williams, Canterbury (7)

Israel Dagg, Hawke's Bay (7)

Zac Guildford, Hawke's Bay (6)

Cory Jane, Wellington (24)

Mils Muliaina, Waikato (97)

Isaia Toeava, Auckland (31)

Police reveal what you need to know when riding e-scooters

Premium Content Police reveal what you need to know when riding e-scooters

While education has been the focus so far, repeat offending will result in the...

Want to join the police? Here’s your chance in Bundy

Premium Content Want to join the police? Here’s your chance in Bundy

Queensland Police Service is holding a recruiting seminar in Bundaberg at the end...

Rangers search for witnesses to Fraser dingo attack

Premium Content Rangers search for witnesses to Fraser dingo attack

Rangers are searching for witnesses to a dingo attack on a two year old boy at...