The winner of the Sweet as Sugar Elite Women’s 1600m Wheel Race final was Rockhampton’s Alexandra O’Dea at Bundaberg’s Cycling Spectacular.
The winner of the Sweet as Sugar Elite Women’s 1600m Wheel Race final was Rockhampton’s Alexandra O’Dea at Bundaberg’s Cycling Spectacular. Scottie Simmonds

Alex the great at Bundy carnival

Alexandra O'Dea upstaged the men to win the Champion of Champions Trophy at the 4BU Cycling Spectacular/Bundaberg Sugar Cup on Wheels at Kevin Brogden Memorial Velodrome on the weekend.

Rebecca Stevenson beat Rockhampton club-mate and Queensland Academy of Sport rider O'Dea in the elite women's eight-lap scratch race to start their program.

But O'Dea turned the tables on her in the 1000m handicap and they repeated their quinella in the 15-lap points score. But they had to settle for second and third respectively as Bundaberg's Courtney Cooper's start proved too good for them in the 1200m handicap.

Stevenson upstaged O'Dea in the unknown distance event, before O'Dea returned to the winner's dais in the Sweet as Sugar Wheel Race final, with Bundaberg's Wendy Habermann the runner-up. Stevenson triumphed from O'Dea in the keirin final but Bundaberg Cycling Club president Toby Boylan said O'Dea's trophy win was much deserved.

Habermann, who competed strongly against the pair throughout the program, also wound up third in the eight-lap scratch race, while Cooper filled the same placing in the 1000m handicap.

Honours were shared around in the Masters A grade category but Peter Bridgewater, of Cairns, claimed a double.

He scored a famous victory in the Combined Masters Dudley McDougall Memorial Wheel Race final and also put his stamp on the Masters A grade 1200m handicap, with the host club's Shane Roberts a brave second in both.

"The wheel races were definitely the biggest highlight of the carnival and the McDougall Memorial and Bundy Sugar Cup on Wheels were great races, how they came down to the finish," Boylan said.

Boylan's brother Ben was also always in the thick of things in Masters A grade, scoring a magnificent win in the elimination, and adding second placings in the 12-lap scratch race and keirin and third in the 15-lap points score.

The other Masters' A grade winners included Gerard O'Connell, of Dutton Cycles (12-lap scratch race), Rockhampton's Lewis Marshell (15-lap point score) and Footscray's Damian Harris (2000m keirin).

Dylan Newbery, of Fraser Coast, was the most outstanding of the elite B grade men, snaring the 12-lap scratch race, 15-lap points score and 2000m keirin treble.

But his best performance was his gallant fourth in a class international field in the Bundaberg Sugar Cup on Wheels Elite A and B men's 2000m wheel race final.

In other elite B men's events, Rockhampton's Lachie Ferguson claimed the 1200m handicap and Ryan Cavanagh, of Sunshine Coast, ruled in the elimination.

Nigel Ford also did Bundaberg proud by snaring the masters B grade men's 1200m and 1000m handicap double, while former local Bob McGrath, now of Rockhampton, prevailed in the masters B grade 1000m handicap.

Cairns's Donald Huyser also had a masters B double in the 12-lap points score and elimination.

Labor candidate for Hinkler announced

premium_icon Labor candidate for Hinkler announced

Richard Pascoe has lived in Bundaberg for 18 years

Bundy boy set for TV spot

premium_icon Bundy boy set for TV spot

Comedian to appear in hit series Taboo

Local Partners